New job.

Anxiety-Girl

So, I just started a new job. It’s one of the worst feelings walking into a room full of strangers that you know you are going to end up working with. First impressions are my worst nightmare because I never make a good one. I have asked my close friends about this in the past and none of them got the best first impression of me, it was getting to know me that changed their mind. So I was terrified. When I walked into the room the first impression that I got was that all these people were about 5 or 6 years older than me, also they had far more experience in the retail environment. I only have experience in a call centre (which I hated) and a restaurant (which I disliked but I was very good at).

After a few hours I realised all the people were lovely, but far more outgoing and chatty than myself. As we are currently in training we are doing ‘in-classroom’ work, and one of the things I struggle doing is speaking out in front of a classroom because of the chance I will embarrass myself with a stupid answer or comment. It’s a coffee company I have started working for, one of which I am a faithful customer. So I have a good knowledge on the company and they products prior to the training, but even though I know I have a good knowledge I couldn’t put myself forward when answering questions. I am scared of becoming the ‘know-it-all’, but on the other hand, when I never answer a question am I being perceived as the girl who knows nothing? It’s a tough situation to be in when you know your anxiety is going to put you down no matter what you do, you foul son how other people are seeing you more than focusing on yourself to widen your knowledge and improve your skills for work.

I have my first aid training tomorrow which I am looking forward to, I just hope I am confident enough to do the demonstrations so I can obtain my certificate. Well here’s hoping anxiety doesn’t join my class with me!

Leave a Reply

